Digital Me – Briefing

Today we had our briefing on this term’s project called Digital Me, which is our final project of second year at university.

Over the last year, we have experienced and explored the role of the designer, the client and the audience through projects and challenges. This started the process of deciding how I myself fit in to the design world and has helped me realise that I can create my own path and imagine my own future.

This project is about learning how to use design technologies and media to communicate who you are to potential employers and collaborators. We will learn how to write, create and deliver a Curriculum Vitae (CV); how to select work for and create a Digital Portfolio; and how to develop an Online Presence. Our final outcomes at this end of this term should include: a PDF portfolio, an online portfolio, and a CV with a supporting email.

During this term’s project, we will also be reworking our past projects to improve and get them to a ‘portfolio standard’. We are here in university as designers to develop our professional skills. With these skills we will become equipped to work alongside other creative people and increase our employability. There are several important questions to consider and ask myself throughout this term:

  • Who am I? – Who are the people that I will work with
  • What motivates me? – What motivates professional designers?
  • Why do I want to work with other designers? – Why would other designers want to work with me?

Skills to think about:

  • self-awareness
  • thoughtful ‘design-mindfulness’
  • awareness of other people
  • empathy
  • listening
  • relationship
Published by

Amber Lloyd

Graphic Communicator

Leave a Reply

