Research and Inspiration

Inspired by Cath’s talk that she gave us on persuasion techniques, I decided that my next step of the process was to do some research into some existing pieces.

After my meeting with my clients and understanding that the outcome that they desired was a series of short food-wellbeing videos, it made sense that I look into existing animations already out there. This helped me to see what worked and also what didn’t work so well. I began by looking at what ‘food safety’ videos were already out there, but then moved on to a wider research area.

What worked:

I really like the idea of using simple black and white illustrated drawings which lead me to looking into the technique of using stop-motion.  Some other animations that worked really well was the actual use of real food, and although my clients said that their market research showed that viewers weren’t keen on the idea of having food on-screen (as it could bring on feelings of nausea), if I used the food carefully and in the right way, it could work. I also discovered ‘Gulp‘, the largest stop-motion animation ever made, which although I am probably not capable of during this project, was pretty inspiring and amazing to watch and learn how it was created. Considering my clients have already got a booklet that is key to their campaign currently, which uses icons and small graphic pictograms, I believe that the illustrated stop-motion idea has the most potential.

What didn’t work:

Although I found loads of great animations and videos that are already out there, some videos did not work so well at all. When it came to actually ‘food safety’ videos, seeing the use of photographic film to film live food preparation, I can definitely see how this could perhaps bring on feelings of nausea so would not want to use this technique in my own videos. Also, the use of somebody standing and talking into the camera does not work, even if they are ‘doctors’ or ‘professionals’ – personal stories do not work.

After realising that I think I wanted to go down the stop-motion route, several animations shone out to me the most. One in particular was ‘Manipulation‘ by Daniel Greaves. Although this animation is rather old and was created in 1991, it is still a brilliant stop-motion animation which mixes both illustration and photographic image to create an incredible animated pieced all based around a stickman character who is drawn to life. This is one of my favourite animations and I think it would be a great opportunity to create a modern version of it in relation to my food safety brief.

Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 00.21.44

Published by

Amber Lloyd

Graphic Communicator

Leave a Reply

