Overall Reflection on Field

Overall, the Field module this year for me has been really positive and I’ve really liked it. After not enjoying the module hugely in first year, I was pleasantly surprised at how enjoyable it was this year. I feel that not only have I enjoyed it the projects that I took part in, I have also benefited from both of them.

Both projects, Publish and Significance of Information, have allowed me to push myself and develop my skillset. One of things I enjoyed most, was working as a small group on our Graphic Communication prospectus as it allowed us to create something bigger and better – without the opportunity of working as a team, I am sure that I would not have been able to achieve the outcome that we did if I had worked individually on the project. I was lucky that the other members of my group all had similar ideas of how we wanted the finished prospectus to look and what we wanted the content to be, which meant the we were able to create a consistent prospectus which we were all very happy with.

Although I worked on my own, rather than as a small group, during the Significance of Information project, I was still happy with my outcome. I was able to show my own personality and humour through my final video outcome, which was rewarding. I had a lot of fun with this project and although I treated it seriously and wanted to create a professional looking documentary-style film, I added a spoofy spin which was a really entertaining aspect of both the design and creating stages, and the final outcome. If the opportunity arises again for me to create another video, I would love to.

It was also great to work with students from different courses within Cardiff School of Art & Design as I was able to experience how different subject areas work and it encouraged me to visit other areas of the university to carry out work. For example, I was inspired by some of the work of the Textile students and decided to visit their studio and work area. This certainly affected the direction of my studies, as I went on to take part in a digital stitch workshop in the Textiles area and used it to further my research and development of my branding project in the Subject module.

Both of my Field projects allowed me to advance my skills in two completely different design areas – firstly editorial, and then video making. I am glad that I was able to pick and take part in two projects that were so contrasting, especially as I enjoyed both so thoroughly.

Published by

Amber Lloyd

Graphic Communicator

Leave a Reply

