Reflection on Field – Significance of Information

donald-trump

For this project, it was great to have so much freedom – it was completely down to us what topic we chose. I wanted to pick something current and inherent within society. Almost immediately, I knew exactly who I wanted to base this project around – the President of the United States, Donald Trump.

I find the first original idea that pops into my head is often my strongest, as it’s usually the one I’m most passionate about. My next step was to narrow down what I wanted to focus on within my character of Trump – this part was a bit more tricky. I started out with ideas such as a timeline of Trump’s life or his famously outrageous quotes, however, both of these seemed too much of an obvious choice – I wanted to do something new. I determined that the best chance I had of doing this was to simply watch the man himself in action.

Through watching everything from interviews and conferences, to compilations of Trump’s ‘best moments’, I arrived at an idea. Inspired by social-media sites where you often find videos ‘taking the mickey’ of celebrities, such as remixes of particular sayings they have, I decided to compile a range of Trump’s many hand gestures, giving the project the comedic title, How to Speak Donald Trump. As the majority of Trump’s worldwide presence is negative, I didn’t want to acknowledge this negativity in my own work – he is considered a man to be intimidated by and afraid of, so for this exact reason, I believed it was necessary for me to spin this around by adding humour and a light-hearted feel.

After creating a short stop-motion film in our previous project, I felt confident enough to create another, this time individually. I decided against using stop-motion as I felt it wouldn’t work so well this time with my subject. Although I’d decided that I wanted to do a video, I struggled with actually starting it – I didn’t know where to begin. It made sense to me to start at the beginning, however, as I was struggling with this, I jumped into creating the middle of the film instead and then worked outwards by adding more and more as I needed it. This way of working seemed to suit me much better and I was on a roll in no time.

In the end, after several tutorials, I created a nature documentary-style film with a David Attenborough inspired voiceover, treating Trump as the ‘wild animal’ being observed. The whole nature documentary-style is such a contrast with Donald Trump, that this is what makes it work. I drew the whole film together with an extended metaphor, which was that Trump’s hands gestures were his ‘mating calls’ as he tried to gain a ‘relationship’ with America – essentially, he achieved this. Overall, I was extremely happy with my outcome although there are several improvements that I want to make before summative feedback.

I’m glad to have had the opportunity of such a wide brief, because it’s meant that I’ve been able to use and create something that I would not normally be able to. I’ve widened my skill-set and feel that if the opportunity arose again later in my own practice, I would be able to use my new movie-making skills again.

Published by

Amber Lloyd

Graphic Communicator

Leave a Reply

