Penguin Book Cover – Brief

Today we got given the brief for our next project,  which is to create a book cover for the Penguin Student Design Award 2017.

The first thing to do before starting on creating some designs was to research. The book that we have been asked to design a cover for is In Cold Blood, a non-fiction novel with a true crime genre, written by Truman Capote, first published in 1966. The book is based on the true story and horrific murders of four members of the Herbert Clutter family which took place in 1959, in a small farming community in Kansas, US.

I started by researching the existing book covers for In Cold Blood to see what I was up against when it came to designing my own:

I then looked  at a wider area, at the book covers of crime and murder genre novels instead of only In Cold Blood:

Now I have looked at and been inspired by a range of different book covers, I have been able to mockup a few ideas of my own. I started by listing some of my ideas, then turned some of them into thumbnail sketches ready to take into my tutorial tomorrow.

Published by

Amber Lloyd

Graphic Communicator

Leave a Reply

