The Designer Side

Today we got handed our briefs.

The brief that I have been given is a an equestrian retail company, called Young Stallion. I made sure that I spoke to my client, Patrick McKenna, to make sure that I understood fully what he wanted for the rebrand of his company and it seemed to me that he was very open-minded and was happy for me to take whichever design/branding route that I thought best suits and create a range of ideas.

My client has supplied me with a list of who they believe to be their main competitors, including: Equestrian World (www.equestrianworld.co.uk), Equine Superstore (www.equinesuperstore.co.uk), equestrian.com, Hope Valley Saddlery (www.hopevalleysaddlery.co.uk), Old Mill Saddlery (www.saddlery.biz), Tailored Equestrian (www.tailoredequestrian.com), The Saddlery Shop (www.thesaddleryshop.co.uk), Ride-away (www.rideaway.co.uk) and Derby House (www.derbyhouse.co.uk). After looking at a lot of their websites, it is clear that some websites are better than others and it has given mea few ideas of what I’d like the website for Young Stallion to look like. A key difference that I notice between a lot of the existing companies and Young Stallion, is that, many of the existing websites stock other brands and sell them on to their own consumers, whereas with Young Stallion, it is their own brand, so consumers will be buying directly from both the maker and seller – this will most likely be beneficial for customers, particularly as Young Stallion will know their own products inside out.

From the moodboard that Patrick supplied me with, it was clear that he wanted geometric shapes used in his logo, alongside a ‘fancy’ type in order to insinuate high quality and luxury within the brand and company itself. I began designing by sketching out several logo designs that I thought would fit this, and trying out a few different typefaces. Almost straight away, I knew I wanted to use the colour purple – although my client seemed unsure when I first mentioned this as he wanted the brand to be dominantly masculine, I still feel as if I can use purple to achieve this, perhaps alongside colours of browns and golds as a compromise. Although purple is stereotypically a feminine colour, purple is often associated with royalty, nobility, luxury, power, and ambition, and according to Bourn Creative, it also represents meanings of wealth, extravagance, creativity, wisdom, dignity, grandeur, devotion, peace, pride, mystery, independence, and magic. I love how the colour purple combines the calm stability of blue and the fierce energy of red. I believe that all of this together, perfectly sums up what my client is looking for in their brand.

Leave a Reply

