Developing Story Book

After deciding on the jigsaw-puzzle idea for my new and improved story book, I developed it further – I remember having one of my own when I was younger, so I decided to make my storybook so that you build the puzzles inside of a book. I wanted to use a technique that I would not normally use so after looking back through old work, I remembered the workshop I had back in the beginning of the year on laser-cutting and decided that this would be the perfect opportunity to use it.

I measured and marked out cutting lines onto thick card and then created the measurements on Illustrator too – I then set it up on the lasercutter with Steve’s help and off I went.

The card that I was using was black on one side and then white on the reverse. Because of this, I decided to make the jigsaw-puzzles so that they were reversible too and negatives of each other. I drew out the drawings on the cutout card rectangles, ensuring to leave a border, and then after creating a pattern on illustrator, cut them into jigsaw pieces to create the puzzle.

Published by

Amber Lloyd

Graphic Communicator

Leave a Reply

