Type Specimen Poster

Earlier this week we were given a font to research and ten create a type specimen on. My font was Caslon Pro.

I started off by researching a variety of specimen and typographic posters, which I have included below:

Using the posters that I researched for inspiration, I designed some of my own rough layouts and picked out favourite parts from the poster that I liked. From looking at the posters, I decided on using the character ‘g’ as a focus point on my poster as it was particularly pretty and interesting. I also liked the letter ‘a’ and ‘Q’ so decided to use these as well.

I also did research for the three paragraphs that we needed to include on the poster – one on the type’s designer, another about the type itself, and the third about the context.

Click here to view (in PDF form) the final outcome of my specimen poster.

2016-05-24 18.19.08

Leave a Reply

