Hybography

On Friday 6th November, we looked at hybrid typography (AKA hybography), which is when you mix different letter types to create one, for example, mixing a serif letter with a sans serif letter. We spent the day practicing making hybrids – we used pages of text which we traced from in order to perfect the letters. We then started to look at particular words (that we had been asked to previously prepare) and give them meaning through how they are laid out and written. For example, one of my words was ‘gap’, so still using hybrids, I simply wrote out the word with a literal gap across the middle of the word vertically.

In the afternoon, David set us a task to do over the weekend which was to create a 6 word story, which summed up the plot of a Shakespeare play and create a poster using hybrids and the techniques we’d learnt today. Personally, I wanted to go for something a bit different to everyone else, so knowing that everyone was most likely picking Romeo & Juliet (which sure enough they did), I decided on basing mine on King Lear. I used a quote from King Lear which also sums up the atmosphere of the whole play, “Blow winds and crack your cheeks”.

I created the piece on Adobe Illustrator, beginning by typing the text in serif font (see below), and then changing it into an outline to be able to divide them in half to make each letter into a hybrid. I focused on the three more important words in the sentence, and thought about both the positioning and how I was going to hybrid them, to represent the words themselves as individuals and as all together. ‘Blow’ is in italic is if literally blowing the ‘winds’ across the page, and then ‘CRACK’ is written in majuscules to show the aggression and violence in the word.

2015-11-07 16.48.25

The final outcome of my piece:

Print

I am really happy with the outcome of my six word project – it came out much better than I thought it would. I particularly like how I have done the hybrids on the ‘CRACK’, because rather than just a single split, they literally crack just as the word suggests.

Leave a Reply

